top of page

13lb Homebirth Story | You CAN do hard things

HOMEBIRTH OF A 13 POUND BABY BOY.


Birth is such a powerful and amazing experience no matter where or how it takes place.


Waylons Birth story written by his mother below On Friday March 13, at 3:30 am I was woken by a strong contraction. They continued consistently 3-4 minutes apart and lasting 45 seconds and I texted my photographer around 4:30. Then I texted my midwife around 5:30. I was confident that the way these contractions felt I would be having him by that day.





However, once my three girls started to wake up, my contractions quickly slowed down! And eventually my labor stalled.


My midwife had come to check on me, and decided to do some home visits as she’s used to me taking forever to finally go into active labor. I was able to sleep that night. And again at around 3:30 am I was woken by strong contractions again that were remaining 3 minutes again.


I texted my midwife again around 5 and she was at our by around 9. My labor was stalling again, so we went our three kids upstairs with our sitter so I could focus on being in labor and not on our kids.





Finally things started to progress more so we filled the tub and I got in. When my body finally told me it was time to start pushing I did.






I was so focused on pushing, but I could hear the concern from my midwife.





Eventually I ended up standing up trying to push, and my contractions stopped. At this point his head was crowning. So I jumped out of the tub on all fours and forced by body to push. I delivered his head and my midwife instructed to me lay on the couch on my back. My husband pushed my legs up as far as he could and she hooked her fingers around his shoulders! It was a total of two minutes!!





My midwife then hold my husband to tell me the sex of our baby. Which was the most amazing experience!

He was 13.1 and 23 inches long.

I am so thankful I was able to deliver him at home and my midwife is as knowledgeable as she is! Now he’s the happiest one month old and loves having three big sisters.


Photographer:





Email to share your birthstory with the world:

247 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page